Litchfield Hills Arts & Culture


Since 1856, the Historical Society has been an invaluable resource for the history of the town of Litchfield, which has state, national, and international significance. The town’s history spans the Revolutionary War through the Colonial Revival and into the Modern Movement. It is also home to the Litchfield Law School, America’s first law school, opened in 1784. The exhibits, programs, and resources at the Litchfield Historical Society enable everyone to connect the past to their present and future.


Located in the scenic Litchfield Hills of Northwest Connecticut, WAA has hosted over 500 exhibitions showcasing the work of both emerging and established artists from near and far. WAA offers a diverse selection of classes in painting, sculpture, drawing, printmaking, photography and ceramics taught by distinguished instructors. Student, faculty and members artists are invited to participate in annual exhibition.


Discover, celebrate and preserve Warren’s History for the benefit of its citizens and surrounding communities through its collections, programs and exhibits.
Preservation is a fluid, ongoing process, so we continuously collect, catalog and preserve hundreds of historical documents relating to life in Warren.


Judy Black Memorial Park & Gardens

One Green Hill, Washington Depot

For decades, Vinnie’s Texaco Station occupied a prominent corner in the center of Washington Depot, and for several years sat empty– an eyesore in the heart of the Depot. In 2013, a small group of civic-minded local residents shared a dream: the purchase of the site of the garage and its transformation into a park, an events space and a vibrant community hub.


The prized possession of the Kent Historical Society is Seven Hearths, a large pre-Revolutionary house. As the flagship of the Flanders National Historic District, and the only original building open to the public, Seven Hearths offers a unique view of the early development of the Town of Kent. For much of the twentieth century it was the home and studio of noted New York artist George Laurence Nelson.


Institute for American Indian Studies Museum

38 Curtis Road, Washington
(860) 868-0518

In the early 1970s, Edmund "Ned" Swigart, an instructor at the Gunnery School and head of the Wappinger Chapter of the Connecticut Archaeological Society, and Sidney Hessel gathered volunteers of all ages to dig in and around Washington. A multitude of discoveries pointed to extensive native settlements and soon the back room of the Gunn Historical Museum overflowed with artifacts and field notes in need of analysis. Volunteer archaeologists joined forces with volunteer fundraisers and the American Indian Archaeological Institute opened on July 1, 1975.


The Gunn Memorial Library, Inc. is a non-profit corporation providing free public library services to Washington, Connecticut and the surrounding communities. It is dedicated to the promotion of literacy, education, and preservation of the Town’s history and culture via the Gunn Historical Museum.


Eric Sloane Museum & Kent Iron Furnace

31 Kent Cornwall Road, Kent
(860) 927-3849

A man of great energy and many talents, Eric Sloane (1905-1985) was a prolific artist, author and illustrator of over 30 books, and an avid collector of Americana. His extensive collection of hand tools is displayed in a building gifted to the State in 1969 by Stanley Works, the Connecticut-based tool manufacturing company, to mark their 125th anniversary. The collection tells a fascinating story about bygone times and the great American heritage of craftsmanship.


Beautifully situated on a sloping, terraced site in the rolling hills of Litchfield County in northwestern Connecticut, Hollister House Garden is an American interpretation of such classic English gardens as Sissinghurst, Great Dixter and Hidcote, formal in its structure but informal in its style. The garden evolved into a unique synthesis of the formal and the natural, the right angles of paths, walls and hedges melting seamlessly into the lush surrounding landscape, which forms a magnificent backdrop to the garden’s exuberant plantings.


The Kent Art Association was founded in 1923 by nine well established artists who knew each other when they lived in New York before moving to Kent: Rex Brasher, Elliot Clark, Floyd Clymer, Williard Dryden Paddock, F. Luis Mora, George Laurence Nelson, Spencer Nichols, Robert Nisbet and Frederick Waugh. Kent Art Association provides emerging and established artists a venue to display artwork to a wide audience, recognizes artists for their achievements, and presents art related programs for the education of artists and the public.